Poem A Day

Just here for the EDITABLE download? Click here!

Too often, resolutions, word-of-the-year activities, and reflections fade out after a week or so. But one way I keep the reflective momentum going is by sharing a poem at the start of each week in the second semester. 

Building a short but effective lesson into the week’s plan helps me and my middle school students stay focused on all the hopes and promises and goals they may have set in January. 

As with many things in the teacherverse, I came across this Google Slide presentation on Instagram from @smithteaches9to12 who got it from the Twitter account of @theVogelman and knew it had a place in my classroom.

from @theVogelman

This resource dedicates one slide per poem and includes questions that help students not only analyze the poem but also apply its concepts to their own life. To access the editable slides and help students hang on to the fresh start they felt in January, just click here!

Leave a comment